Our Board

The Board Members of the UN Women National Committee Aotearoa New Zealand for 2018-2019

Board Executive

Suzanne McNabb, President

Suzanne has been actively involved in women’s issues and gender equality over many years.  She has been co-convenor of the NZ Council of Trade Unions (CTU) Women’s Council; organised and chaired several Biennial Women’s Conferences; represented the CTU on NACEW (National Advisory Council on the Employment of Women) which reports to the Minister for Women for seven years; and been Convenor of the Pay Equity Coalition.  Suzanne has completed three terms as a Board member of UN Women NCANZ.

Cate Mork, Vice President

Cate currently works as a management consultant for a leading global professional services firm, where she is part of the supply chain and operations performance improvement team.  She has a strong history of working in education with youth and currently serves on the board of CanTeen and leads the UN Women Auckland Committee. Cate loves a good coffee and if members and potential members are in Auckland she would be keen to touch base.  Cate joined the Board in 2017.

Barbara Williams, Immediate Past President

Barbara has worked on development issues primarily in the Pacific throughout her career, in both the public and voluntary sectors. She is very familiar with the work of UN Women in Honiara and in Suva from her time as Development Counsellor in the NZ High Commission in Solomon Islands and her roles in MFAT. Her interest in both development and in the value of the voluntary sector to development was whetted when she was a school leaver VSA volunteer in Bougainville.


Board Members

Sue Kedgley

Sue is a member of the New Zealand committee of the UN Women’s Empowerment Principles, and #HeforShe Campaign coordinator. Sue is a previous President of the Committee.  Sue is a current Wellington Regional Councillor, Capital & Coast District Health Board Member and Deputy Chair of Consumer New Zealand Board. She is a former Green MP with a strong interest in global food issues and development issues in the Pacific. Sue previously worked at the Women’s Secretariat for the United Nations. She has travelled widely in the Pacific and is a Member of Women’s Rights and Advocacy in the Pacific (WRAP).  In 2016 Sue won a Women of Influence award.


Lillian Tahuri (co-opted)

Lillian is passionate about gender equality, human rights, diversity and inclusion.  She is an active member of an organisational leadership group working to improve gender equality, increase diversity in the workplace, and increase awareness at executive and leadership levels.   Lillian has worked in NZ Parliament, local government and Crown Law for more than 23 years in senior management, political and programme management roles. While working on contract in Afghanistan, Lillian was able to experience first-hand the trauma and plight of women and children living in a war zone, and the negative impacts of strict religious regimes.   This has increased her motivation to improve the livelihood of women and children locally and around the world.

Emily Lambie

Emily is a social and behavioural scientist and a 2016 Fulbright alumnus.  Over eight years, in the Disaster Risk Reduction space, Emily has led interdisciplinary and multi-stakeholder research projects at the interface of government, society and industry.  In 2014, Emily received a first class Masters degree from the University of Canterbury. Her Masters Thesis and subsequent research have contributed to community resilience outcomes both nationally and internationally.  Emily has a keen interest in social impact projects and understanding how social change happens. Emily joined the Board in 2017.

Laura Dawson

Passionate about international affairs and security, Laura has worked for an NGO in New Delhi, a newspaper in Jakarta, and a think tank in London. Most recently, she worked for the Permanent Mission of New Zealand to the United Nations in New York, on the Security Council and Helen Clark’s Secretary-General campaign team. Laura holds a Masters with Distinction in International Relations from the Australian National University, and has also studied at the University of Otago, the University of Virginia, and the Sorbonne.  Laura joined the Board in 2017.

Lucy Kaiser

Lucy is an indigenous disaster management specialist and a 2016 Fulbright alumnus.  Lucy has broad experience working in rūnanga business development, marae and community-based disaster resilience as well as the school safety sector.  In 2016, Lucy received a first class Masters degree in Sociology from Colorado State University. Over the past six years, Lucy has led and contributed to a plethora of major research programmes contributing to community resilience both nationally and internationally in her role as a Māori Social Scientist at GNS Science and Massey University.  She is passionate about advocating for the rights of indigenous women and children globally through social justice research and policy. This is Lucy’s first year on the Board.

Tara Singh (co-opted)

Tara’s philanthropic work and leadership has positioned her as a public advocate for women and girl child issues, clean energy/sustainability in business and environmental conservation, and animal welfare and rights. As a repeat delegate to the White House and United Nations, the essence of Tara’s professional life’s mission is to support women and youth and to empower our next generation of global leaders. Working with the support of the United Nations, Tara is a regular forum and session participant, serving on working groups and committees including the UN’s Inter-Agency Network on Youth Development’s (IANYD) Youth and Gender Equality and UN Women’s Business and Philanthropy Leaders’ Forum.  Tara is our Auckland representative.

Faaolataga (Ola) Leasi

Ola is a full-time mother and minister’s wife, serving the ministry 24/7.  She is a leader of the thriving Women’s Fellowship PIPC (Pacific Islanders Presbyterian Church) Porirua.  Ola is a member of the Church Review Committee and Student Committee (Wellington Presbytery) and a member of the Children’s Commission Committee PCANZ (Presbyterian Church Aotearoa New Zealand).  This is Ola’s first year on the Board.

Loretta Daunakamakama (co-opted)

Loretta is an experienced public service leader in policy, people and strategic roles across different sectors in Auckland and Wellington.  As a woman of Pacific heritage, Loretta uses her skill sets and expertise to support and encourage women regardless of class, status, ethnic make-up or abilities. Loretta is a graduate scholar of the University of Auckland with a First Class Honours Masters in Geography and a Bachelor’s in Political Science and Geography.

Mere Ratuva (co-opted)

Mere advocates extensively for women’s rights and mental health, and in the areas of suicide prevention, safety for battered women, social support systems and self-care.  She facilitates Maori and Pacific Women’s Groups and uses her abilities and experience to bridge cultural and social boundaries. Mere is our Christchurch Representative.

Jane Ruka

Jane is Kaiwhakahaere of the Waitaha Executive Grandmothers Council.  Jane has worked in several different Health Sectors and Social Development occupations throughout her life.  This is Jane’s first year on the Board.