About Us

About us

About UN Women

Currently working in 96 countries, UN Women is the only global agency dedicated to the empowerment of women.

Delivering programs aimed at empowering women and girls, UN Women has five priority areas of intervention:

  • Increasing women’s leadership and participation
  • Ending violence against women
  • Engaging women in all aspects of peace and security processes
  • Enhancing women’s economic empowerment
  • Making gender equality central to national development planning and budgeting

UN Women has its headquarters in New York and works worldwide out of 15 regional and 2 country programme offices. Three international agreements frame UN Women's work:  

  1. the Beijing Platform for Action of 1995 and its successor Beijing plus 20
  2. the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW), known as the women’s bill of rights
  3. the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)

To find out more about UN Women internationally visit www.unwomen.org

UN Women National Committee Aotearoa New Zealand

The UN Women National Committee Aotearoa New Zealand exists to mobilise support for UN Women’s work and builds strategic relationships with individuals, organisations and companies who we believe are committed to this agenda. 

In New Zealand and the Pacific, we advocate for women's empowerment, we raise awareness of the issues affecting women around the world, we raise money to fund UN Women projects, and lobby the New Zealand government to support UN Women’s initiatives. 

Our role and purpose is set out in our Constitution and we aim to achieve our mission and goals through our projects and initiatives.